If You Like Downton Abbey…

… You should read what I’m reading. Mr. Bicknell got me two Nancy Mitford novels for Christmas, and I ripped through them in a couple of days. Now I’m reading The Sisters, a biography of all the Mitford gals—Bright Young Things who ran around with Churchill and other British society types; one of whom ran off to Germany and became a big fan of Hitler (so if that winds up happening to Lady Edith, you heard it here first.)

So, I’ve had five days off, and I haven’t written a word—Well, that’s not true. I wrote a freelance piece on the Wizard of Oz.  But I haven’t written a word on my book. I should feel guilty about this, I suppose, but I don’t.  I prefer to think of it as resting while I Absorb Things.

Along with reading, I also watched several movies. Argo was better than I thought it would be. The Long, Hot Summer with Paul Newman was cheesier than I thought it would be.  Noises Off was hilarious and exhausting, and if you have film editor friends, you will have a great appreciation for the work done in it.  My kid is reading To Kill a Mockingbird, so we watched that movie again Friday. I’d forgotten how good both book and film are in their own right.

I sincerely hope that all this semi-historical material kicks me into a history-writing frame of mind. There’s always next weekend for settling in under the laptop!

In more exciting news, the Beatles magazine I freelanced for has been printed. I believe it will be in shops later this month.

In truly exciting news, Mr. Bicknell got a book cover! It’s quite lovely. We were very excited.

Advertisements

About arwenbicknell

Editor by day, author by night.
This entry was posted in Doldrums, Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s